About Us

Multi-Material Stewardship Western (MMSW) launched its program in Saskatchewan on January 1, 2016. This means businesses selling or distributing packaging and printed paper materials now share the responsibility with municipalities to finance the collection and recycling of household packaging and paper.

This approach to funding recycling programs is called Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) and is similar to the approach being taken in British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

MMSW is a non-profit organization established to help obligated businesses meet their requirements under the Recycling Regulation. MMSW members include retailers, restaurants, importers, manufacturers, distributors or wholesalers and any organization that supplies packaged goods and/or paper and flyers to Saskatchewan residents.

MMSW is a legal entity in Saskatchewan with its own local office and staff, whose members help fund Saskatchewan municipalities that provide residents recycling of household packaging and paper.


MMSW has a dedicated board of directors bringing experience and expertise in operating stewardship programs. Their combined leadership and commitment to sustainability is invaluable in reaching MMSW’s goals.

  • Dale Botting, Founder, Botting Leadership Inc. 
  • Robyn Collver, SVP, ESG and Environmental Strategy Advisor, Canadian Tire Corporation (retired) (Board Chair)
  • Ian Gordon, Board Member and Advisor, SVP, Loblaw Brands, Loblaw Companies Limited (retired) (Board Vice-Chair)
  • Nicole Fischer, Global Head of Social Impact, Engagement and Governance, Kraft Heinz Canada
  • Angela Griffiths, Vice President, Food Safety, Animal Welfare & Environment, A&W Food Services Inc.
  • Gabor Szekendi, Chief Financial Officer, Unilever Canada

Finance & Audit Committee:

  • Dale Botting (Chair)
  • Ian Gordon
  • Gabor Szekendi

Governance & Nominating Committee:

  • Robyn Collver* ex officio attendee
  • Angela Griffiths (Chair)

MMSW Industry Advisory Committee

MMSW established a multi-stakeholder Advisory Committee to serve as a forum through which Saskatchewan stakeholders are kept informed of MMSW’s activities and through which they can provide advice and feedback on core program initiatives. The members of the Advisory Committee volunteer their services to represent their specific constituency and bring issues from their group to Advisory Committee meetings.

The committee includes members reflecting the interests of urban and rural municipalities, regional waste management authorities and stewards. MMSW worked collaboratively with local government associations to select Advisory Committee members with qualifications and expertise as a guide:

  • Up to two qualified representatives will be nominated by Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA);
  • Up to two qualified representatives will be nominated by Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM);
  • Up to two qualified representatives will be nominated by Association of Regional Waste Management Authorities of Saskatchewan (ARWMAS); and
  • One qualified representative will be nominated by the Saskatchewan Waste Reduction Council.

The board appointed these nominees as well as up to three representatives from businesses that are stewards of residential waste packaging and paper. The steward representatives on the Advisory Committee will reflect the range of stewards participating in the MMSW program – brand owners and first importers resident in Saskatchewan, and voluntary stewards that are based outside of Saskatchewan.

The Advisory Committee meets up to four times per year.

MMSW Advisory Committee

Joanne Fedyk – Saskatchewan Waste Reduction Council (SWRC)

Keith Matheson – Association of Regional Waste Management Authorities of Saskatchewan (ARWMAS)

Anne Mathewson – Association of Regional Waste Management Authorities of Saskatchewan (ARWMAS)

Kara Mitchell – Save-On-Foods

Bob Moulding – Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM)

Deanna Nichols – Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM)

Augustina Osaseri – Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA)

Kathryn Palmer – Federated Co-operatives Limited (FCL)

April Phillips – Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA)